Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 25, 2024, 07:48:30 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: No Registration with MSN emails

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Monster 1200S exhaust pop problem  (Read 2242 times)
JDIRECTORJ

« on: September 28, 2017, 10:26:53 PM »

Hello,

So I've been having an issue with excessive popping coming from my exhaust. I have a 2014 monster 1200s with termi tips.

I brought it to a local garage, they said they would reseal the exhaust. They did (twice) and when I picked it up the second time the garage pointed out that they noticed air coming out of the mid pipe and the seal is as good as they can get it.

I then brought it to an actual dealer. They said they checked it out and test drove it and said it was fine... Which I'm skeptical about.

I'm not an expert at this but I have a few questions. I have a feeling the techs didn't properly check my bike...

1 - What does a monster 1200s exhaust look like and how many separate parts are there? There is a separate header pipe, mid pipe, then exhaust cans, right? I got a snarky remark that the only place my exhaust can leak is from the mid pipe to the muffler. Is that correct? What about the headers to the mid pipe?

2 - Can this be related to the O2 censor?

3 - Can this be a mapping issue? When I boot it up it does say racing.

4 - Anyone deal with ducati NYC? If they know someone who really cares about customer service would be nice.

This is the email I got back from ducati NYC service manager when I expressed that there could be other places the pipe can leak from....

Service manager: These guys looked at me like I had 10 heads when I told them that story....  There is one place your exhaust can leak from and that's where the muffler attaches to the mid pipe... and it's not. NO clue what they sealed or saw but we can't identify any problems.