Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 27, 2024, 04:17:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: No Registration with MSN emails

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dropped the Hyper this morning...  (Read 1324 times)
CajunR

« on: September 17, 2010, 02:39:21 PM »

bang head bang head bang head bang head bang head bang head bang head

There is a ton of construction going on to widen the road (FM 1378) just outside of my subdivision, and it's going to be about 3 feet lower than the existing road, for some reason... So, to get out of my subdivision and onto FM 1378 I have to ride down the relatively steep slope (which is paved) at the end of my street to the new road, then straight up the embankment that is the side of the old road.  Said embankment is gravel.  Angry  I've been doing this without issue for about 3 months now:   Roll forward at the top of the slope, stand on the pegs to check traffic both ways, roll down the slope in 1st, build a little momentum, gently roll on the throttle at the bottom and up the embankment, roll off just at the crest, let the momentum carry me over the crest while turning right on the road, roll on the throttle as I straighten up on the road, head off to work.  Piece of cake.

It didn't happen like that this morning. 

I really wish someone could have filmed it.  I'm sure "Doofus in bright yellow jacket falls off motorcycle" would have about a billion hits on youtube by now.  I just didn't have enough steam once I got to the top, and I started to list to starboard a bit.  I barley got a toe down, and all hope was essentially lost.  I sort of limped/wrestled in a semi-circle back onto the gravel embankment and gently (and quite ungracefully) fell the hell over.