Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

March 28, 2024, 09:37:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: No Registration with MSN emails

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How many miles....  (Read 5122 times)
Ducgirl

Racing Red 696 re-mapped w/Termi's & Marchesinis

« on: October 21, 2010, 05:27:41 PM »

Hi... I am really new at riding and was wondering about how many miles do you need to ride before it gets really comfortable!  I am at about 400 and I'm still not totally confident . I know that isn't very much time on the bike but it is getting much better.I'm not a speed freak even on a bicycle so 65mph seems plenty fast and I'm sure I will be able to calm down a lot more as I get mileage. It is lots of fun and unfortunately winter is coming along with the snow so I will be off the bike for a few months!  Thanks for your comments... Roll Eyes
Slide Panda
Omnipotent Potentate
Post Whore

Personal Pretext

« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 05:02:52 AM »

Well, hate to say, but everyone is different. So no one can really say for you. Obviously, practice helps - so keep going!

Also, education helps. We've got the Riding Techniques section:
http://www.ducatimonsterforum.org/index.php?www;board=8
- There's some fluff, but also some very useful discussions in there. If you've got a particular question, that's a good spot to gets some other riders perspectives.

There's also a couple books that are worth picking up. Lee Parks - Total Control and David Hough - Proficient Motorcycling series

-Throttle's on the right, so are the brakes.  Good luck.
- '00 M900S with all the farkles
- '08 KTM 690 StupidMoto
- '07 Triumph 675 Track bike.
badgalbetty

its never too late to be who you might have been

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2010, 06:38:27 AM »