Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 29, 2024, 07:02:02 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Tapatalk users...click me

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: At least it was the less expensive bike...  (Read 6278 times)
yotogi

« on: November 05, 2008, 10:03:26 AM »

I have a 6 mile commute from home to work each way, so instead of getting the S2R out to make this routine trip, I had decided to start riding the Buell.

Monday, I am taking a right hand turn that I have taken every day since I started riding in May and I lowside the bike at maybe 10-15 MPH. I get up, no major injuries (ATGATT) and the bike starts back up and seems ok, just a slightly bent break lever. All afternoon and evening, I am trying to figure out what happened. I went down so fast I didn't have time to react. It wasn't that I didn't know how to react, just that I was down before the bike let me know that I had lost control.

The next day, I stop at the intersection and look for a reason that I lost control. Sure enough, I think I have it all figured out. For the last few weeks, I have been working on my cornering in controlled situations. I really felt like I knew this corner (having ridden through it over 100 times) and was pretty low through the turn. I look at the apex of the turn and what do I see but a manhole cover. I must have started to roll on the throttle when the back tire hit this and pow, down I went. At least it was the Buell and not the Duc and I was very lucky to just have a sore shoulder and a couple of bruises.

I have to wonder if I had been on the Duc if I would have dumped the bike. There is so much more grip in the rear and I have felt the back end break out a little on the Duc under acceleration and it never felt like it wanted to go down, not like this accident felt at least.

somegirl
crazy bike girl

aka msincredible