Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 26, 2024, 10:18:11 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Tapatalk users...click me

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 2001 - 750 Runs rough then dies out - fuel delivery??  (Read 5329 times)
benn80

« on: December 05, 2008, 04:38:14 PM »

Hi All -

First post here, as I'm new to Ducatis - just bought a used 2001 750 a month ago with ~ 9K miles on it.  It had been recently serviced with all of the belts replaced.  It has been a complete blast to ride with no problems up until today.  I installed a battery tender hookup and went for a nice afternoon ride - I got about 5 miles down the road and lost all power at all RPMs - pulled over and it died out.  It felt like I ran out of gas, but there was fuel in the tank - lifted the tank to investigate thinking it was just a pinched hose, poked around a bit - then started it back up and it ran fine.  Another 5 miles down the road the same thing happened - throttle became unresponsive until it finally conked out and died.  Same thing, lifted the tank looked around a bit, then started it back up and it ran for another 5 miles..... I finally got it back home feeling a bit disenchanted with my new toy. 

I'd rather not take it to the shop if it's something easy that people have ran into before I'd love to hear it  - I checked all of the lines and I'm confident that none of them are getting pinched...   Just not sure about where to check after that - do the fuel pumps go out? is there an easy way to check ?

any troubleshooting help would be appreciated
ducpainter
The Often Hated
Flounder-Administrator
Post Whore

DILLIGAF

« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 04:43:27 PM »

There are a few things it could be.

If your bike still has the vacuum operated petcock I'd eliminate that. It's located just under the tank hinge.