Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 27, 2024, 12:23:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: No Registration with MSN emails

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to: Bleed the rear brake on an S2R800 (and possibly others)  (Read 4055 times)
Dirty Duc
I'd rather be an anti-

I'm a hooliCAN, not a hooliCAN'T!

« on: December 08, 2008, 12:03:58 PM »

As I have fought with my rear brake for a couple of weeks now, I thought I would give a more comprehensive write-up than I have found on this site. If someone already wrote this and I didn't find it, then it is my fault.

Somehow I got a rather enormous air bubble in my rear brake. I learned to ride with the MSF, so I found the lack of rear brake disconcerting. This is my first bike, but I have extensive experience working on cars. I thought I knew how to bleed brakes, and then I found out you just have to put the rear caliper on top of the rotor... or somehow get it above the rear master cylinder. Easier said than done. It didn't turn out to be that difficult, rather more like a Rubik's cube... once you know the trick it is easy.

So, for those who don't know (newbies like myself), here is a step-by-step Ducati rear brake bleeding tutorial. You might not have to do them in this order (I didn't, but it took me a while), but this seems the most logical sequence.

Definitions:
Master cylinder = the little metal (non-moving) thing connected to the rear brake lever via rod that moves
Caliper = The metal thing inside the rim that says "Brembo"
Brake hose = hose that connects the master cylinder to the caliper
Reservoir = the tiny film-container-looking thing inside the frame, above the master cylinder that should have brake fluid in
Allen screws = those things that Ducati likes to hold their bikes together with whenever inconvenient.