Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 28, 2024, 03:05:39 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the DMF

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: top upgrades: what would you upgrade if you had a $1500 budget?  (Read 5872 times)
hydra

life is analog...

« on: May 12, 2008, 08:09:46 PM »

hello folks,

i have a stock S4 Foggy that i just got... Grin
i have a budget of about $1500 including labor to do some sort of upgrade. i was leaning towards a slipper clutch. i'm new to the whole ducati world 'cause i've only had the bike for a week. so i'm just starting my research and was curious what other ducatisti's top upgrades might be.

i really like the performance but i can't help thinking how good a slipper clutch might feel on this bike.  and i also don't want to compromise reliability and efficiency of the motor. i like the tuning as it is for now and i'm going in for an 18k mile service on wednesday so i know the bike will feel really crisp after the service. but maybe something without having to change mapping.

so with that said, if you had $1500, what would you upgrade? let's NOT include exhaust and bling. could you please explain what the benefits are, the model # and manfacturer.

thanks

S4 Foggy- tires, battery...
'04 BMW Boxer Cup Replika (R1100S)
BE WATER
jimboecv
Call me lucky

Baa-daa-BING!

« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 09:05:30 PM »

ergos.  suspension.  rideability.

Make it fit.  If you can't move around you'll be compromised.  Bars/clipons, footpegs/clipons, seat, rideheight, etc.

Get your springs right and put fresh oil in'em, minimum.  Does the foggy have ohlins?, I don't remember.  If not, get one or similar.  Revalve the forks.

Powercommander makes the bike sooo smoother it's stupid.  Adjust the controls, both foot and hand.  Mess with the ride heights.  Change the levers to something else.