Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 20, 2024, 03:58:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the DMF

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Monster left me stranded  (Read 3498 times)
jollywrencher

« on: May 16, 2008, 04:21:00 AM »

Yesturday I took my bike to work and it was running very sluggish.. only to find out that the front cylinder wasn't firing anymore.  After work I took it to a friends and dug into it some.  Swapped the wires, and coil around to eliminate them as the problem.  Today I'm hauling it up to Delano to get it worked on, only cuz it's still under warranty for about a month yet. 

I'm new to the Ducati world so I don't know if this is a common thing or what, anyone have any ideas or helpful advice?  It's a '06 S2R and seemed to run great the night before.  Only thing changed on it is a DP ecu and open airbox.
fasterblkduc

« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2008, 07:23:54 AM »

Which wires did you switch, and did the same cylinder play dead? Just the plug wires and coils, or injector wires too?

Atomic Racing
Zalusky Advanced Riding School Lead instructor
2010 partners:
Komodo Gear, Motorex, Studio299, Moto Primo, Caztek, Chickenhawk
jollywrencher

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2008, 07:34:48 AM »

First I bought plugs.. then swapped plug wires around.. then coils.. everytime just the vert cylinder would fire.  I gave up after that cuz I didn't  have the tools with me to check the voltage going to the coils..  So I'm gonna go see how Delano's service is  bang head ... I like to fix my own stuff, hope it doesn't take forever.
crash13

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2008, 08:40:21 AM »

Just curious did you check to see of you threw a belt, or pulley?

Hope it's electrical and sorted quickly

Mark Miller
Chief Riding Instructor Trackaddix Northern Region
Co-Chief Riding Instructor Central Roadracing Association