Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

March 28, 2024, 06:07:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Tapatalk users...click me

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How'd you get your 1st ducati?  (Read 16046 times)
shellbelle

« on: June 25, 2009, 11:19:25 AM »

Hi! I'm a new rider (been riding for a measely month now).
I currently ride a ninja but I am totally in love with the 696, however, short of selling an organ or my citizenship, I am a poor college student who will probably never get to sit on a new one (or even a used one) for many many years.
Which got me thinking, how did you end up getting your 1st ducati? AND is it true that it's expensive to maintain?
duqette

Does this bike make my butt look fast?

« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 01:37:34 PM »

Hey, you don't really need two kidneys....  Wink

I rode around on an 82 Nighthawk 650 for almost a year before I upgraded to my first Duc. I bought used from a local seller that I think I found on craigslist.

I had lots of assistance from an experienced rider friend, testing out the Duc, and helping out with the huge wad of cash such a purchase requires.

"Youth is wasted on the young." --GB Shaw
shellbelle

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 03:42:05 PM »

that's what I keep telling myself.. (about the kidneys that is).. that or sell some eggs HAHAHAH Tongue
Stella

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2009, 05:22:25 PM »

When I moved to CO four years ago, I didn't know anyone and it just dawned on me that I could get my own bike to ride around and explore the state.  I'd ridden cupcake with friends/boyfriends for a long time and we also grew up with small bikes (50 & 80cc).