Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 28, 2024, 10:19:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Tapatalk users...click me

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Where do you have your gear lever, under/over/besides the foot?  (Read 4158 times)
stopintime

S2R 800 '07

« on: May 29, 2008, 01:42:13 PM »

I'm trying to improve my skills and now I'm wondering where to adjust/place the gear lever - to reach it the most effective way. I mean, when the foot is moved forward to shift - should the toe peg be under/over/besides where the foot naturally is positioned? Excuse me if I'm missing something obvious - I'm fairly new to advanced riding techniques.

237,000 km/sixteen years - loving it
somegirl
crazy bike girl

aka msincredible

« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2008, 01:43:57 PM »

I'm not sure I understand your question entirely, but when I am riding (not shifting), the balls of my feet are on the footpegs.
When I want to shift, I temporarily move my foot forward so that the heel is on the footpeg, and I can reach the gear shift lever.

Need help posting pictures?  Check out the photo FAQ.
ducpainter
The Often Hated
Flounder-Administrator
Post Whore

DILLIGAF

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2008, 01:59:58 PM »

I think beside, by your description.

It's easy to shift by pushing down...harder to have to move your ankle excessively to get your toe under the shifter.

Have you considered GP shift?

"Once you accept that a child on the autistic spectrum experiences the world in
 a completely different way than you, you will be open to understand how that
 perspective
    is even more amazing than yours."
    To realize the value of nine  months:
    Ask a mother who gave birth to a stillborn.
"Don't piss off old people The older we get, the less 'Life in Prison' is a deterrent.”

stopintime

S2R 800 '07

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2008, 03:15:32 PM »