Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 29, 2024, 02:00:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the DMF

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Bar ends  (Read 3113 times)
1KDS

« on: July 02, 2012, 03:43:59 PM »

Don't worry Nate, it's actually a riding technique thread.  Grin
I don't have a ton of experience but I've been riding for about seven years.  All of my bikes to date have had bar ends of some sort that is about equivalent to the girth or the grip, or the Hyper that has the wrap-around protector/mirror/blinker assembly.  I always have my pinky (or just the right side of my hand) on the bar-end or against the Hyper's protector bracket, I seem to use it to steady my hand.  I only recently became aware of this as I was sitting on another person's bike and realized there wasn't really a bar end at all.  Since then I've tried to ride without touching the bar end at all and I find myself extremely jumpy, hit a bump, the throttle gets twisted and the bike lunges.  I'm not riding with locked elbows or anything, nice and loose on the Hyper.  What can I do / what am I doing wrong / will I just get used to it with more practice?

Every bike I've ever owned.
ducpainter
The Often Hated
Flounder-Administrator
Post Whore

DILLIGAF

« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2012, 03:58:58 AM »

Grin

Lighten your grip.

Try just using the tips of your fingers on the throttle.

"Once you accept that a child on the autistic spectrum experiences the world in
 a completely different way than you, you will be open to understand how that
 perspective
    is even more amazing than yours."
    To realize the value of nine  months:
    Ask a mother who gave birth to a stillborn.
"Don't piss off old people The older we get, the less 'Life in Prison' is a deterrent.”

Slim1899
I break for "0's"

"Ni neart go cur le cheile"

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2012, 10:52:07 PM »